If you know me, you probably know that I am a big believer in tablet computing for education, and for the foreseeable future, I will spend a great deal of my time learning about how these iPads affect teaching and learning.

Personally, I love my iPad 2. It’s been a fantastic tool for me. I purchased it last year, during SXSW, so that I would have a few months to learn how to use it at the end of the school year, and be perfectly prepared to use it full bore come Fall…and that’s what I did. For the first time in my life, I had no binder this past semester. Zero. I had a folder, but generally didn’t use it. My iPad was all I took to school, and it was all I needed to thrive (sometimes). I used it for a wide variety of purposes that I’ll perhaps describe another time, but that’s not what this post is about.  This post is about facilitating multimedia creativity.

During a break from academic writing two nights ago, I was inspired. I was inspired to create…art. Only, I don’t draw or paint anymore. I used to be decent at drawing, but if there was ever any talent, it’s long gone by now. BUT, I can design a thing or two from time to time. Hell…over the last five years of my life as a teacher I learned that I could make anything just using Microsoft Word. Ha! Yeah…sometimes I can be naive. Last night though, when inspiration called, I reached for my iPad.

The University of Texas football team is playing the U.C. Berkeley football team on December 28, 2011, in the Holiday Bowl. This is a special event for my family, because I am now a proud Longhorn…hook ’em…but my brother and father are Cal alumni. The Russells are torn. Clearly, the Longhorns will win, but I wanted to express this in ways more powerful than words. So, I took out my iPad and made this poster:

Yup.  Never would have done that on my computer, but designing it on my iPad was intuitive, easy, and dare I say…fun.  Last night, during another break, I made a comic about the steps it took to make the poster.  What better way to show just how easy it is to tell a story with multimedia on the iPad than by creating a multimedia narrative?  The story goes like this: (click images if you want them even larger)

